Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:03 a.m. - 2001-07-11
Art
What the fuck...

Okay, it's like 5am and I've been up all night, so bear that in mind while reading the next entry and please ignore any grammatical errors; I apologize in advance for them...

I like art, I do. But lately I sorta just forgot about it. Well, forgot that I like it, and that I want to learn more about it. So, since there is soooo much infomation on this wonderful smorgasbord we call THE INTERNET. I'm going to learn about one artist a week. I'll keep you posted on how it's going. I feel like pissed or whatever coz I'm starting now, today, on a Wednesday. But whatever... My artist for this week is Jackson Pollock. I watch a special on him on Ovations (the arts network). And he's really interesting, and so are his paintings. I tried to do what he did, "drip" paint rather than "paint" paint, with my table. It's a small wooden table in my room, and I wanted to make it look cool, like abstract art or something, so I attempted to do what he did, but it didn't work out so great coz I don't have that much paint. I went to go see the Georgia O'Keefe exhibit at the museum the other day. It was amazing. Not just the work, and the skill, but the transitions from abstract to expressionism. Or whatever. I'm not too much of an expert with the art lingo yet, so forgive me if I use it wrong. My favorite pieces from Georgia O'Keefe were the ones with the pelvis and the sky background. I don't know what it is, just kinda of a simplicity or the expression in the piece, I'm not sure. But I like it. Next week, I don't know which artist I'll do. Maybe Paul Gauguin, or Henri Rousseau. Though, I'd really like to do Andy Warhol. And I can't forget, Degas, Monet, Matisse, Klimt, or Klee. And Kandinsky! I love Kandinsky. His works are on my screensaver. Okay, I've babbled on enough about this ... that's all now. I'm tired. Bye.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!