Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

20:02 - 09.11.2001
World Trade Center Tragedy
I am absolutely flabbergasted at the travesties that have occurred at the world trade center and the pentagon. I cannot even being to fathom the amount of hatred that it takes to commit such a violent act. To hate someone so much that you are willing to sacrifice your own life just to kill a few innocent people. It hurts me to even fathom the hatred in their hearts. My deepest sorrow and regret goes out to all of the victims of this awful tragedy.

I was in the school library working on a research project. I was online, and I went to Yahoo.com to look for information. I saw under the Yahoo! News heading, Plane Crashed into World Trade Center. I wasn't really sure what the world trade center was, but whatever this was, I thought it was a hoax, or some kind of joke. A few minutes later, a teacher announces to everyone in the library that there's been a disaster. We turn on a t.v. and there's live news coverage on every channel regarding this act of terrorism. After I went to my physics class, all we did was watch the news. It's been a very weird day, thinking about the devastation that this act has on our nation.

They said that we are declaring war on whoever is responsible for this. I don't exactly agree with that. Yes, innocent people were killed. Yes, something should be done. Does that mean that we have to go out and kill more innocent people? Maybe you think so, maybe not. But a great mind once said "An eye for an eye, and the whole world goes blind." - Gandhi. Call me crazy, but I'm trying to promote some nonviolence here. There must be something that we can do, besides kill more innocent people, that makes these people pay for what they've done. I know that losing a loved one is hard, and nothing can ever make it better. But that doesn't mean we have to make more people lose their loved ones. That doesn't mean that we have to go on a killing spree. But whatever pans out, pans out, and there's really nothing I can do about it. Just wanted to state my prospective on the situation.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!