Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:20 - 02.04.2002
Club Unique
Listening to: "Lady's Night" by Kool and the Gang

Yet another hectic day.

I'm in this club at my school. The name of the club is Club Unique. Anyway, we're doing these cultural presentations for Black History Month, and I somehow volunteered to be in charge of the whole thing. It seemed funner at first. But already I have a meeting tomorrow during lunch with a teacher to ask her questions about Power Point. Grrr.

I've been in this club all four years of high school, but it seems like now more than ever I'm trying to get really involved. I started thinking about it too. Freshmen year. God, those were the days, weren't they? So blissfully ignorant of the horrid reality of high school politics and what not. Looking back, I really wish that I would have joined more clubs and activities. We've got a lot of clubs at our school. I should have joining Cultural Exchange Club. They go on the best trips.

Feeling that it's too late to join any existing clubs, I've devoted a lot of my time to Club Unique. I put up posters in January for Martin Luther King's b-day. I started a website. (Though, I haven't updated it in some time.) I do all of the displays around the building.

The thing is ... my school is predominately white. I'm talking 90-95% Caucasian. We're out in a suburb of Milwaukee. Most of the minorities that go to the school are bused in from Milwaukee, the rest live in the suburb. Club Unique mainly consists of those minorities. It's not like a no-whites-allowed thing or something. That's just the way it worked out. It's kind of nice though. I feel more comfortable. Nothing against white folks. After all, half of me is white. But, you know.

Some of us are going to a leadership conference (AHANA - Asian, Hispanic, African-American, Native American) at UWM in March. I'm so excited about it! I get off school the first Friday in March to go to it. Xa, Marquita, Jake, and some other people are going. So, it's going to be really cool.

p.s - do you love me? - Yes or Maybe

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!