Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:58 p.m. - 04.26.2002
Will you be my best friend?
Best friends.

Damn near everyone has one, right? But not me.

Ever since my old one and I drifted apart after going to different high schools, I've been on the search for a new best friend.

One very interesting prospect was my friend Jake. Jake is unbelievable nice, sensitive, funny, sweet, just everything I was looking for in a best friend. But he's one of those people who isn't really good friends with a few people, but just kinda talks to a bunch of people. I talk to him in the hall, and he just seems so ... stifled. Like by standing there talking to me is infringing on his lolly-gagging-in-the-hall time. God forbid.

Don't get me wrong; I'm not just going to stop talking to Jake. It just won't be the way I was hoping that it would be.

There's Kara. Kara is a very outgoing, extroverted, interesting, and fun person to be around. I've talked to other people about her and they say that she's "annoying, talks too much..." I never really found her to be that annoying though. I like talkative people. I cannot tell you how many times people have called me or I've called other people and I just could not think of anything to talk about. I am not a fan of the awkward silence, but unfortunately I do encounter them habitually.

There were others. Like Franziska, the foreign exchange student from Germany. And Julia, the wild and crazy girl. But ... I don't know. What's wrong with me?

You wanna know something? I used to have online relationships a lot. A few years back, not really anymore. And every guy I would meet online -- who talked to me on the phone -- would just practically fall in love with me. Not boasting nor bragging here. But aren't some of the characteristics that people look for in a best friend, things like sensitivity, empathy, etc.? I think the reason was that they liked having someone be able to listen, relate, empathize, and sympathize with what is going on in their life.

Maybe I'm just an idiot.

Will you be my best friend?Best friends.

Damn near everyone has one, right? But not me.

Ever since my old one and I drifted apart after going to different high schools, I've been on the search for a new best friend.

One very interesting prospect was my friend Jake. Jake is unbelievable nice, sensitive, funny, sweet, just everything I was looking for in a best friend. But he's one of those people who isn't really good friends with a few people, but just kinda talks to a bunch of people. I talk to him in the hall, and he just seems so ... stifled. Like by standing there talking to me is infringing on his lolly-gagging-in-the-hall time. God forbid.

Don't get me wrong; I'm not just going to stop talking to Jake. It just won't be the way I was hoping that it would be.

There's Kara. Kara is a very outgoing, extroverted, interesting, and fun person to be around. I've talked to other people about her and they say that she's "annoying, talks too much..." I never really found her to be that annoying though. I like talkative people. I cannot tell you how many times people have called me or I've called other people and I just could not think of anything to talk about. I am not a fan of the awkward silence, but unfortunately I do encounter them habitually.

There were others. Like Franziska, the foreign exchange student from Germany. And Julia, the wild and crazy girl. But ... I don't know. What's wrong with me?

You wanna know something? I used to have online relationships a lot. A few years back, not really anymore. And every guy I would meet online -- who talked to me on the phone -- would just practically fall in love with me. Not boasting nor bragging here. But aren't some of the characteristics that people look for in a best friend, things like sensitivity, empathy, etc.? I think the reason was that they liked having someone be able to listen, relate, empathize, and sympathize with what is going on in their life.

Maybe I'm just an idiot.

Will you be my best friend?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!