Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:21 a.m. - 04.11.2002
I Support the Day of Silence.
So, first of all I have to talk about the Day of Silence. I don't know if you know about this or have heard of it. But basically it's a day where the participants are silent for the whole day in honor of not discriminating against someone because of sexual orientation or anything else.

And I hate that some people were upset about this. Well, it's their right to get upset. They can do that; no one is going to try to stop them. But this one guy was all like "It's fucking GAY DAY!! This sucks, man! We should have straight-day! They shouldn't get their own day!"

Ignorant fucking asshole. The day, at least at our school, was about not discriminating against anyone for anything. Not just sexual orientation. Jesus Christ! The principal made an announcement last week and went through this list of things that you shouldn't discriminate against people for: "sexual orientation, race, creed, pregnancy, social status, emotional status, mental well-being ..." I mean, folks. This list went on for like 2 minutes. This day ain't just about the gay/lesbian/bi-sexual/transgender people.

And also, every goddamn day is straight day. Never before has a straight person thought twice about telling someone that they are heterosexual. Never before has a straight person been scared to tell someone about it out of fear that they might get picked on because of it. I think that even if it was just about sexual orientation, what is so wrong with that? The day is about not discriminating against people because of it. It's not "gay day." It's not saying that everyone has to accept homosexuality or bi-sexuality as their own. It's not saying that you have to agree with it. Because, honestly, I understand why certain people don't agree with it due to religious beliefs. All they're asking for is respect.

It just pisses me off so much that so many people can be so narrow minded.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!