Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:43 p.m. - 08.25.2002
A Boost of Self-Esteem never hurt anybody!
Someone hit on me today.

In the supermarket, no less.

By some guy who looked like he could be my father.

I was just casually pushing my cart at the end of each of the aisles. I wanted to get to my mom, but she was on the other end of the aisle, and there were a lot of people and a lot of carts in the way.

I make a U-y, and go down the next aisle, empty.

I'm walkin' with the quickness, can't be bothered. And this guy comes up to me. He practically had to run to stop me. I'm thinking he's new to the store and wants to know where he can find frozen burritos or some obscure item like that.

Before I can even start mentally compartmentalize the store, he says to me "Can I give you compliment?"

I say okay. And he then proceeds to tell me what a pretty young girl I am.

I'm thrown off guard. This doesn't normally happen to me, so I just stand there kind of shocked.

"Are you single?"

"Uh..." I giggle. "No?"

"Hmmm... That's nice. How old are you?"

I tell him.

"Oh," he sounded disappointed. "That's a little too young for me. Oh, well I just wanted to tell you how pretty you are."

I find my mom and tell her what happened. She tells me not to let it go to my head. We continue shopping.

We go to the register, and I start bagging all of the food.

Surprise, surprise! He was bagging right in the lane next to me. I didn't see him at first because my back was turned to him.

But he came up to me.

"Is that lady your mom?" Mom was paying while I was bagging.

"Yeah."

"She's pretty too... Is she single?"

"Uh... no? I don't know ... no," I said and laughed nervously.

As sick as it was, this forty-five year-old looking man, asking me if I'm single. Damn near asking for my phone number. As pedophiliac as it was. And to have the audacity to then ask me if my mother is single.

Despite all of this, I still was very flattered.

Yours truly doesn't get complimented too often about my appearance.

Even under these circumstances, a good, healthy boost of self-esteem never hurt anybody.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!