Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:29 a.m. - 08.19.2002
I'm feelin' so good! I got a job!!!
I'm feeling so good right now!

There are a few reasons, really. Like I just watched a very funny Sex & the City. And I've changed this diary layout again.

But the main reason is...

I have a job!!!

You just don't know what this means. It's huge. It's the best thing that's happened to me in a while. This means:

- No more bullshit from my mother about getting a job. (And I've been getting a lot of bullshit up until recently.)

- I can get my diploma. I only have a credit and a half left, and I have to pay for a internet high school course to finish up.

- I can start driving soon. I have my road test next Friday, about two weeks from now. My mom says she'll buy the '87 Chevy Blazer from my uncle for me, once I get my license - But only if I have a job to pay for insurance. And I do. =)

It feels so damn good.

It's like a puzzle. The job, the car, the diploma, the apartment, getting into college: all pieces of the puzzle. I had no pieces. It was utterly depressing. I didn't have anything. I felt like a bum, really. Eighteen years old, unemployed, didn't graduate. I'm 18, not 34, so it didn't feel that bad. But it felt bad nonetheless.

And one of the main pieces of this life puzzle, as I like to call it, was the job. I needed the job for everything else. To pay to finish high school, to pay for gas and car insurance, to save up for an apartment. (Hopefully one with my friend Julia.)

I didn't even start yet, and already I'm so into it.

My first couple paychecks I've already mentally cashed and spent.

It's a thrift store near my house. I can walk there or ride my bike, so that's really cool. (It doesn't help that there's a bank right across from it. And a strip-mall.)

And I love talking about it. My aunt was getting annoyed by it, but all day I kept saying things like...

"Don't call me Tuesday. I'll be at work."

"I'm going to the museum on Thursday, but not until I get off work."

"Hey, can I drop this off at your house before I go to work?"

I'm telling you! I was obsessed. You can ask my mother. I wanted to throw it in her fucking face. I wanted to say...

"Fuck you! Don't ever tell me to get a job again! For the past couple months you've managed to make me feel like complete shit every goddamn time I talk to you. I have a job now. So leave me the fuck alone!"

Of course, these were the things I thought in my head, and dared not to say aloud.

As soon as she found out I got the job, she told me that I had to start paying half of all the bills. And since I have my own phone line, I have to get that in my name now. Also, I have to open up an IRA (individual retirement account, or something like that).

And put 10% of my paycheck aside for maybe a new car later on. Or when I move into an apartment and I have to pay first and last months' rent and the security deposit. For big stuff, you know.

Oh, yeah. I start on Tuesday.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!