Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:28 - 12.09.2001
Grocery Shopping
The supermarket. There's about a million little quirky incidents that go on at that place that drive me ... crazy.

First, there's the Express Lane. 15 items or less. And you know there gonna be some unsuspecting soul who's got 16 items. God forbid you've got a cranky cashier. That'll be the end of your grocery shopping at that local food mart...

I could go through the whole list, but I'd like to point out one in particular: the conveyor belt. I've had a couple of odd experiences with it....

I was in line purchasing hair dye, just hair dye. It was late at night, and I just wanted to get out of there. The chick in front of me is very amused with the conveyor belt. She put her hand down. It stops. She lifts her hand up. Conveyor belt resumes. She giggles. This chick was at least 20. And she had a cigarette butt in her hand, as if she was smoking. It was kinda creepy. Her conveyor belt giggle-fest went on for a good 2 minutes, until the cashier had to politely ask her to step aside.

And today, I was at the end of the lane, still packing my stuff. But the next person needed to use the belt to get her stuff bagged. The cashier, immediately recognizing the dilemma, puts the belt on high speed ... somehow. Grapes, meat, cake ... it's all getting squished. I've got 2 seconds to get all the stuff out before it starts falling on the floor. I managed to grab all of my remaining items, put them all in one bag, throw it in the cart, and head out! It was quite a challenge, but I made it.

One small step for me... One big 'ole leap for all troubled grocery shoppers.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!