Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:11 - 02.28.2002
Trip to Rufus King High School
I've had such an awesome day today.

Let's start from the very beginning. I go to a suburban school, even though I live in the city (Milwaukee.) My school is like 95% white. People from a school in Milwaukee came to our school to see what it was like to go to a school like ours. And today we went to their school to see what it was like at their school, which seems more or less 65% African-American.

I was very nervous at first, because in order to go, we had to shadow someone all day. I thought that who ever I was to shadow would be disappointed that they got stuck with me. But my fears quickly subsided when I saw who I got paired with. I remember her from when she came to our school. She was really nice, and she's really funny.

The best part of this day was getting to see my best friend again. (Well, lately I've been debating with the issue with myself of whether she's still my best friend or not ... since we hardly ever see each other.) But we did a lot of catching up. And it was nice.

Until high school, I went to schools in the city. So it was a slight adjustment when I started going to high school in a suburban area. Four years later, I go to this school in the city for one day. And it's different. I mean, of course it is. But I used to think that I'd rather go to a school that was more like that one. But fact is, I like the school I go to now. If I could go back, I'd wouldn't change a thing (you know, school-wise). Not that I just absolutely love the fact that 95% of the student body is white, because sometimes things get heated between them and the other 5%.

Also, I'm even more excited because this weekend I'm going to a leadership conference at UW-Milwaukee. As ann-frank would say ... don't fret, starshines. I'll be sure to tell you all about it when I get back. =)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!