Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:52 p.m. - 06.17.2002
Wanna Be Cool? Just Be Yourself.
I went to the concert. The Green Day/Blink 182 concert. I saw many people there. And from that ... I give you this.

Cool? What is cool? What does it really mean? Is it what's in or what's out that determines a person's amount of coolness? Perhaps.

What has happened to our society, folks? We've reached a point where people aren't just doing what's "in" to fit in, but instead hating what's "in" to be "cool." It's the new cool. Only it's been the new cool for some time now. Being rebellious, doing something different, being unique. What these lost kids today don't understand is that there's nothing new about it. Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash; it's been here for some time now.

I cannot tell you how sick I am of these kids, these posers. Not just doing what's in to fit in, but doing what's out to fit in now.

Here's a tip for all of you out there who have ever done something just to be a part of the group:

Be yourself.

I know that I've done some things that I've regretted to fit in: smoking, dressing a certain way, etc. But I soon realized the err of my ways. And besides. Life is just too fuckin' short to spend it being someone you're not.

As for the concert, I had an okay time. I hate going somewhere with a bunch of people, and I only know one of them. And then they ignore you the whole time. But I didn't let that stop me from enjoying Blink 182. I don't like Green Day that much though.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!