Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:26 p.m. - 2001-08-13
State Fair
My moods:

Every year my family and I go to the State Fair together. I love it ... but this year we didn't get to go.

My mom comes up to me, and she starts crying, and she says "Erica, I have bad news." I'm freaking out thinking that someone is dead, that someone's got cancer or some other life-threatening disease. And she says "We're not going to the state fair. Mike's got a girlfriend."

We usually go with her friend Mike and his kids. Her and Mike used to go out, but he did the whole "I need more space" thing, and now ... yeah. Anyway, he said to my mother that he didn't want to go with her because he thought it would be unfair to his gf. So, I'm thinking we can still go. So what Mike's not coming? We go EVERY YEAR. It's tradition. And it's one of those rare traditions that continues because it's actually fun.

Then, everyone else was bailing on me! Everyone who was supposed to go was: my mother, Mike & his kids, T-Mikki (my aunt), my cousin Isaiah, and my cousin Mia. Mike & his kids weren't going. My mother will not stop sulking. She walks around the house crying because she so depressed about the mike-has-a-gf-thingy. Mia wasn't going because she was going to a friend's church that day. And T-Mikki and her son, Isaiah had to go school shopping. Am I the only one who believes in tradition?! I almost cried. The state fair is always so much fun, but everyone just ditched me ... to go with their girlfriends, or to go sulk, or to go to church, or to go shopping. So what did I do on that boring Sunday afternoon? I went out and bought some black nail polish. Oh yeah ... that was tons of fun.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!