Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

06:54 - 10.28.2001
Cliques
Since when did high school people, meaning my generation, get so political about labels? I'm only thinking about this now because I've run a diaryring called Paranoid, and a lot the people who are joining are those "punks." Now, I'm not exactly educated in the clique jargon, so if I offend anyone in anyway ... get over it. Okay, I guess it's a little like that thing I was talking about with Britney Spears. People spend so much time hating her, you know that Spear-Britney shit, that it doesn't make sense to me. I mean, don't you have something better to do? Sure, I don't like a lot of these musicians out there... A LOT. But you don't see me parading around talking about them and that I think they suck and whatnot. And someone just joined my diaryring Paranoid, and they had this thingy up that said Blink 182 sucked or something because they weren't real punks or something like that. I forget. But has there ever been a time when people could just like music? I mean, no websites devoted to a certain musician's demise, and not defining people by what music they listen to, what clothes they wear, etc.

Another reason I bring this up is because (and I know I shouldn't be doing this) I've been trying to define me in this clique-filled world of yours. And let me tell you, there's no where I fit. I'm not into like hard-core rock stuff. I don't like Slipknot or ICP. But I do like Alien Ant Farm and Limp Bizkit. I'm not a preppy pop girl. I don't like Dream, Jessica Simpson, or the Backstreet Boys. But I do like Britney Spears, *NSync, and Janet Jackson. I've never been too much into rap, but I do like Nelly, Dr. Dre, and Eminem. And I'm not an old fogy, but I like Marvin Gaye, the Temptations, and Gladys Knight. And as far as clothes go, I never wear dresses or skirts unless someone died. And even then, I'll probably wear jeans and a t-shirt. That's actually pretty much all I wear: jeans and a t-shirt. Though now that it's getting cold I can switch up. You know, jeans and a sweater. =)

Okay, I forgot why I'm doing this. I could just scroll up, but forget it now. This is just a pathetic plea for people to stop spending so much time hating people. Whether it be another clique or a certain musical artist. And start spending your time living.

'Cause Life is Just Too Fuckin' Short.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!