Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:29 p.m. - 08.28.2002
Get fired? Quit? Get a new job?
I didn't get fired.

I have to say that I'm feeling very ambivalent about it.

I was thinking that I would get fired yesterday, or be very close too fired. So I went to Mayfair Mall and applied at 7 or 8 stores.

A restaurant at Mayfair, Panera, called me back. I have an interview with them tomorrow at three. I don't really want to work there, so I'm not sure if I'll go yet. It depends on what my mom says, since she is the one who'd have to take me there.

On the other hand, my Mom would have been super pissed if I got fired. And I would have to, yet again, endure more put-downs about being unemployed.

And god knows we don't want that.

Plus, today at work my coworker, Laura said to me "If you quit, make sure you give them your two weeks notice. I can't handle this by myself."

I told her I would give my notice if I was going to quit.

The thing is, Laura and I are not that close. I barely know her. And from the looks of it, I won't be getting to know her any time soon. I don't know ... we just don't click.

But on all of my applications that I filled out, under "when can you start" I put ASAP for all of them. (I was under the distinct impression that I was definitely going to get fired.)

I think I'll probably just forget about going to the interview tomorrow because I can't start as soon as possible. I know that I'm not too fond of this Laura, but I'd like to be a nice person. And I'll probably end up shopping there someday.

And I can't give my two weeks notice yet. Since I don't know if I'll have a new job yet.

Another thing though: at least 10 people last week came in and filled out applications. Eager! Eager fucking people! I'm sure that if I quit today, no notice or anything, that they could find a replacement quickly, if not immediately.

Damn it. I wish I just would have got fired.

It'd be a helluva lot easier than this shit.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!