Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:51 p.m. - 06.08.2003
Pride Fest: Day Three
The final day...

I wake up around 7 or 8, which is so unlike me. Feed the iguanas some broccoli, and go online for a bit.

London, Julia, and me were all at Pride Fest yesterday together, and we were all going to go the next day. So they spent the night at my house.

Get offline. Go back to bed. London wakes me up, and offers me a cigarette. That's when I hear it. The thunder.

It's raining. And today is the day of the parade! I'm tired. It's gloomy. And I'm in no mood for an anxiety attack. I don't want to go.

"London, should I go today?"

"Yeah."

"Okay, let me get ready."

Yeah, I know. I really wanted to go because my friends were going. Being at home. Bored. Alone. No gracias.

We get pulled over by a cop on the way there. A fucking dumbass cop who, apparently, doesn't know the difference between a PERMIT and a LICENSE. Say it with me officer...

Anyway. We get there and it's still raining. But Julia goes in the parade anyway while me and London stay back. I see her and all the other wonderful folks of Project Q. And I take a picture.

[If I could kick my own ass, I would. I left the digital camera in my car, and I'm still pissed about. That camera had held up to 125 pictures all at once. That means Snap-Happy Erica can photograph whoever what whatever the hell she wants! But nooo! I have FILM and it has to be DEVELOPED and shit. Save the film! Save the film! Only take good shots!]

Walking around some more. Getting stuff to eat. Then, we go back to the dance area.

And my girl Julia got a number! Her name is Jill, and I believe her to be pretty cute. They even danced together.

[Is it just me or do you think it's always going to be hard to be happy for someone else if you're not satisfied yourself? I'm single. And I have been for some time. But I've gone out with a few people, and nothing ever seemed to happen. I look at her and Jill dancing, and I'm happy. And at the same time, envious. Oh, so envious. Can't I be with someone? Or least have someone interested in me too?]

An hour or two later we go the drag show. It was alright. It was kind of half-assed. By then it had stopped raining. So they probably canceled it, and then decided to perform since it had gotten much better out. (Too bad there wasn't a rainbow. How perfect would that be?)

Back to dancing. Well, no dancing for me of course. It's just sitting on the side and watching everyone else. As usual.

Fireworks! Fireworks!

10 o'clock. Closing time. But don't go until you see the fireworks! Though I did almost bust my ass climbing on the rocks by the lake front. It was dark! I couldn't see! I swear it felt like someone skinned my left ass cheek.

It's over. Time to go home. Not before we get a group photo! (I promise to post it here later.)

All in all, it's been a very trying weekend for me and my anxiety.

But I had a damn good time.

With Julia (you crazy girl!), London (my partner in crime), Dennis, Alfonzo, Emmanuel (yeah sexy!), Charles, Stephan, Ryan, Joel (so beautiful), Alberto, Todd, David, Kurt (thank you so much for the food!), and Joe (ain't you tired from all that dancing?!).

Oh yeah. For got to mention that on day two of Pride Fest, I saw part of the Vagina Monologues. It was riveting.

I can't wait to go next year!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!